One heart-stopping smile

I never belonged there,
I would have not gone there,
Had it not been for that smile,
That one heart-stopping smile.

A crammed room floating with smoke,
Strangely unknown surrounding me,
Speakers blaring lungs out ,
Squeals and laughter straining my ears.

‘You must be fun at a party’
‘Do you live under a rock?’
Flashbacks looming over my head,
Threatening me to turn back and run.

But then, I see you,
I see your smile,
That one heart-stopping smile,
Dragging my legs on a path to you.

I don’t like the way you flip your hair,
I don’t like the way you roll your eyes,
I can’t write a poem for those lips,
And I could never describe those hips.

Because I never loved you in bits and pieces.
You were one whole loveable soul,
With such a beautiful smile.
That heart-stopping smile.

When you enter a room full of strangers,
And your eyes search for one single person,
When there are different pairs of eyes looking at you,
But your eyes meet with one single person’s.

I prayed God, ‘Please don’t make her..’
She smiled.
‘..Smile’, I finished.
That’s how my heart-stopped,
And that’s how I fell in love!

….Sara

 

PC : Shutterstock

Leave a Reply

